menu

Advanced Amazon Redshift: Performance Tuning

Go to Lab

233 Reviews

Df5e988bd4079c5c1ac3ed7583e78479

The Windows EC2 didn't have pip installed along with python 2.7.6 (there was no Scripts directory when doing step 45). I had to download and install pip manually so I could install the python modules.

Tim C. · Reviewed 19 days ago

C366ed61de4d6d049cf3a17a2f667dcd

Problem with getting Python running. Logged as ticket by AWS T&C team.

Chris S. · Reviewed 19 days ago

E71bbfaac02dbe17835ad9806e733c00

Jeroen M. · Reviewed 20 days ago

D46a21d08d78fb2878c977bdbd40353d

Arun K. · Reviewed 26 days ago

494345a2dc441eea26d5437ae93bdd10

This lab is full of inaccuracies 1) No C:\Python27\scripts 2) Downloaded get-pip.py via https://bootstrap.pypa.io/get-pip.py (had to troubleshoot) 3) 2nd Explain plan does not match what is shown in the docs 4) Show the create SQL for the tables so that we know the distribution ond order keys 5) This took less than a minute with no modifications: C:\Python27>python.exe analyzecompression.py --db redshiftdemo --db-user awsuser --db-host qls-1914787-f7dfda7318e89e94-redshiftcluster-aa88tih1631j.c9ligqnif0mw.us-west-2.redshift.amazonaws.com --db-port 5439 --analyze-schema public --target-schema public --output-file output.txt --do-execute true Password <awsuser>: -- [2672] Connected to qls-1914787-f7dfda7318e89e94-redshiftcluster-aa88tih1631j.c9ligqnif0mw.us-west-2.redshift.amazonaws.com:5439:redshiftdemo as awsuser -- [2672] Analyzing Schema 'public' for Columnar Encoding Optimisations with 1 Threads... -- [2672] Recommended encoding changes will be applied automatically... -- [2672] Extracting Candidate Table List... -- [2672] Analyzing 7 table(s) which contain allocated data blocks -- [2672] Table region contains 3 unoptimised columns -- [2672] Analyzing Table 'region' -- [2672] Column Encoding resulted in an identical table - no changes will be made -- [2672] Table nation contains 4 unoptimised columns -- [2672] Analyzing Table 'nation' -- [2672] Column Encoding resulted in an identical table - no changes will be made -- [2672] Table customer does not require encoding optimisation -- [2672] Table orders_nodist does not require encoding optimisation -- [2672] Table orders_dist does not require encoding optimisation -- [2672] Table lineitem_nodist does not require encoding optimisation -- [2672] Table lineitem_dist does not require encoding optimisation -- [2672] Performed modification of 0 tables C:\Python27> Due to the inaccurate documentation, rushed through the lab without digesting as much as I had hoped. I hope my assessment helps the lab preparer and fixing the issues. This lab is very important for the success of this course. This lab could use some more time. Maybe, break it into 2 labs. Thanks for listening to me!

pauly l. · Reviewed about 1 month ago

884ba8cf14deb893e44e5679932a6437

The information was wrong or out of date. The instances were too slow to finish in one sitting and the differences between the distributions were not explained. This should be expanded into two labs and larger VMs need to be used.

Chad D. · Reviewed about 1 month ago

Ef2308c93709cb26023d284f42112305

pip wasn't available and \Python27\Scripts was missing

Barret N. · Reviewed about 1 month ago

84af2fce8ae5d21ac366b1ac415d8329

Needs more time

Todd M. · Reviewed about 1 month ago

94db3aef49b63f4fbf1ebef4bbae315c

Bruce L. · Reviewed about 1 month ago

Ee0a0d9903abf5eccd61159c5aff22e5

Steven P. · Reviewed about 1 month ago

De93158be8c758926b5557183c90d79d

Due to no Python/Scripts folder, I couldn't install Python compression function and couldn't execute compression parts.

Taguchi G. · Reviewed about 1 month ago

1438ba5d51f744154c6bed88d3b8b8ba

pierre m. · Reviewed about 2 months ago

D25a93287020d49720e5b0de59ff86c3

pip instructions do not work. I had to install pip manually.

Oscar H. · Reviewed about 2 months ago

596532cf187b3cb01247c4f91f94f86b

Javier C. · Reviewed about 2 months ago

6d11ae96affe4c32f5e26f9b5d5eb2de

key有问题,没法打开远程桌面

han c. · Reviewed about 2 months ago

Db26b8e85328c8a487a2b015b86449c3

barely enough time to finish.

Yong R. · Reviewed about 2 months ago

Db26b8e85328c8a487a2b015b86449c3

console won't open.

Yong R. · Reviewed about 2 months ago

Bb755b2b2f44bfc35a9d4bd302b1c200

Mani V. · Reviewed about 2 months ago

E440051560a30d6b2049de6b7888af62

Summary: not good and dissappointed. Two parts of the lab confused me and drained a lot of my lab time. The first, which drained the most time, was the switch from the Python27 command line tasks to editing the analyzecompression.py doc. You should make it much more explicit that you are switching to the remote desktop C drive not just assume "C:>Python27" will be understood by all. I was confused for a while and got frustrated. I thought I was opening a Python27 folder using the command prompt. Please make this clearer. The second drain on time came from some syntax issue copying the Redshift endpoint in analyzecompression.py. I missed the inverted commas, but at no point in your notes did you mention the inverted commas. Please amend your texts. Regards, Stuart

Stuart D. · Reviewed about 2 months ago

C117bf4045e0d64172e1e0cb01050495

Execution plan explanation does not match with the actual query/plan. After WLM reboot, unable to run queries through Worbench.

Quentin R. · Reviewed 2 months ago

04ce805962e4c7f3903943d8d2d86008

Mohammed A. · Reviewed 2 months ago

578526d4830f165341a4c4bd6475865f

Joshua M. · Reviewed 2 months ago

6a57074bc7b6e557769c0a5dac297c35

Ridge X. · Reviewed 2 months ago

9c6b113db06d45c2a48dd78691fba8c6

David K. · Reviewed 2 months ago

6ca9343d7cc7bdb81115719b26ab3edf

good lab

Derek H. · Reviewed 2 months ago